East African Court of Justice,15th March 2024: The East African Court of Justice First Instance Division, dismissed a case “Reference No. 22 of 2019 Dr. Alfred Rurangwa versus The Attorney General (AG) of the Republic of Rwanda”. The case that was challenging the government of Rwanda over a land dispute, the matter came up for a hearing, and only the lawyers representing the AG of Rwanda were present in the Court. The Applicant, who was served with the notice of the hearing, did not appear to Court. Hence, the case was dismissed with no orders to costs.

In his case the Applicant Rurangwa alleged that, during the time he was away to the USA for studies his property located Plot 1204 Kimuhurura/Gasabo, was sold off and went into another called NTABARESHYA Papius, claiming that he died as per the death certificate issued by the Executive Secretary of Kibangu sector (a gov’t Administrative entity) in Muhanga district Southern Province the home village of the applicant and consequently approved by the judge called Nsengiyumva Rwisumbura Bernard of Kyamba primary Court , in order to allow one Mr. Ntabareshya Papias to acquire his property. He alleged that the said acts by the Respondent’s agents violate the provisions of the East African Community Treaty.

The Attorney General of Rwanda in his response filed to court, opposed the matter, saying that he was not aware of any of such acts since all the transactions on this property were between the applicant’s wife, his sister and the buyer, the Respondent had no role and that there is no cause of action against the Respondent.

The matter was brought before Honourable Justices Justice Yohane Masara (Principal Judge), Justice Dr. Charles Nyawello, Justice Richard Wejuli, Justice Leonard Gacuko and Justice Kayembe Kasanda Ignace Rene.

About the EACJ

The East African Court of Justice (EACJ or ‘the Court’), is one of the Organs of the East African Community established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. The Court was established in November 2001, its key mandate is to ensure the adherence to law in the interpretation and application of and compliance with the EAC Treaty. Arusha is the temporary seat of the Court until the Summit determines its permanent seat. The Court’s sub-registries are located in the capitals of the following Partner States: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and United Republic of Tanzania.

For more information please contact:

Christine Mutimura

Deputy Registrar,

East African Court of Justice.

Arusha, Tanzania

Tel: 255-27-2162149

Email: cmwekesa@eachq.org