East African Court of Justice,6th November 2023: The East African Court of Justice kicks off its November Sessions this week, which will go on up to end of the month. Both two Divisions of the Court will be sitting and a total of 38 matters will be handled, that is 11 matters before the Appellate Division and 27 matters before the First Instance Division.

The Appellate Division will deliver 2 Judgments and 1 Ruling; hear 3 Applications and 1 Appeal; Schedule 3 Appeals & 1 Application. These matters will be brought before a bench of the Appellate Division, composed of 5 Judges namely; Hon. Justice Nestor Kayobera (Judge President) Hon. Lady Justice Hon. Lady Justice Anita Mugeni (Vice President), Hon. Justice M’Inoti Kathurima, Hon. Justice Cheborion Barishaki and Hon. Justice Omar Othman Makungu.

The First Instance Division will deliver 6 Judgments & 15 Rulings; hear 3 Applications and Schedule 1 Claim & 2 References. These matters will be brought before the bench of the First Instance Division, composed of 7 Judges namely; Hon. Justice Yohane Masara (Principal Judge), Dr Charles Nyawello (Deputy Principal Judge), Justice Charles Nyachae, Hon. Justice Richard Muhumuza, Justice Richard Wejuli and Justice Leonard Gacuko and Hon. Justice Kayembe Ignace Rene Kasanda.

The Sessions will be held at the East African Community (EAC) Headquarters Arusha- Tanzania, the current seat of the Court. The Sessions are conducted in open Court and begins at 9:30 am EAT.

About the EACJ

The East African Court of Justice (EACJ or ‘the Court’), is one of the Organs of the East African Community established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. The Court was established in November 2001, its key mandate is to ensure the adherence to law in the interpretation and application of and compliance with the EAC Treaty.

Arusha is the temporary seat of the Court until the Summit determines its permanent seat. The Court’s sub-registries are located in the capitals of the following Partner States: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and United Republic of Tanzania.

For more information please contact:

Christine Mutimura

Deputy Registrar,

East African Court of Justice.

Arusha, Tanzania

Tel: 255-27-2162149

Email: cmwekesa@eachq.org