East African Court of Justice, 20th July 2021The Judge President of the East African Court of Justice (EACJ), Justice Nestor Kayobera accompanied by other Judges on Monday 19th July,2021 paid a courtesy call on the Chair of the EAC Council of Ministers and Kenya Cabinet Secretary (CS) of East African Community and Regional Development, Hon. Adan Mohamed to discuss key issues affecting the work of the Court. 

Hon Adan called upon the EACJ to be more visible on the ground especially on the landmark cases for the public to properly understand the jurisdiction of the Court. The Cabinet Secretary also noted the need of the permanence of the services of Judges of the Court to ensure there is no backlog of cases before EACJ since cases filed have increased. The CS added that one of the roles of EACJ is to review the Treaty in order to deal with a number of issues that require Treaty amendments including the permanence services of the Judges as well as increasing the number of Judges in the Appellate Division.   

 Hon. Adan further informed the Judges that he will ensure that by August Kenya will give its comments on EACJ Administration Justice Bill in order to support the independence of the Court. He also encouraged strong cordial relationship between the Heads of Organs of the Community which will enable a number of issues resolved and promote a spirit of Teamwork among the Organs. The CS undertook to ensure that these issues are discussed by the Council of Ministers.  

 His Lordship the Judge President Justice Nestor Kayobera informed the Minister of the planned Court sessions in August and September but due to financial constraints, the sessions were at a risk of being cancelled unless the Court gets funds. His Lordship called on the Minister to support seek for funds to enable the Court conduct sessions to avoid a backlog in which it is the citizens of the community will suffer.  

 The President was accompanied by the Vice President Justice Geoffrey Kiryabwire, Principal Judge Justice Yohane Masara, Deputy Principal Judge Justice Audace Ngiye, Justice Charles Nyachae and Registrar.

On his part,the CS was accompanied by the Chairperson of the EAC Coordination Committee Hon Kevit Desai Principal Secretary (PS) Ministry of East African Community and Regional Development Kenya with other senior Staff of the Ministry.