East African Court of Justice, Arusha, Tanzania, 23rd June 2023: The President of the East African Court of Justice (EACJ), Hon. Justice Nestor Kayobera, together with the EACJ Deputy Registrar, Her Worship Christine Mutimura, received a delegation from the ECOWAS Community Court of Justice to benchmark and learn about the functioning of the EACJ especially its Alternative Dispute Resolution Jurisdiction.

In his welcome remarks, the EACJ President appreciated the ECOWAS delegation for taking time to visit the Court. Justice Kayobera informed the delegation of the EACJ’s role in resolving disputes that arise from violations of the Treaty for the establishment East African Community. He also highlighted on the jurisdiction of the court in handling arbitration and mediation matters as part of Court’s Alternative Dispute Resolution mechanism.

The EACJ staff took the opportunity to deliver a comprehensive presentation on its rich history, mandate, jurisdiction, and jurisprudence while shedding light on its significant contribution to the integration agenda of the East African Community. It also highlighted the Court’s achievements and challenges it has faced. The delegation particularly showed keen interest in learning about compliance and enforcement of judgements, admissibility of cases and how the court handles arbitration matters.

The ECOWAS delegation, led by President of the Court, Hon. Justice Edward Amoako Asante, expressed its appreciation for the warm welcome and the opportunity to learn from the EACJ’s experiences. The visit served as a forum for both courts to exchange ideas and foster cooperation in promoting justice and regional integration.

The East African Court of Justice looks forward to future collaborations with ECOWAS Community Court of Justice and other regional courts as they work together to promote the rule of law and ensure access to justice for all citizens of their respective regions.

About the EACJ

The East African Court of Justice (EACJ or ‘the Court’), is one of the Organs of the East African Community established under Article 9 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community. The Court was established in November 2001, its key mandate is to ensure the adherence to law in the interpretation and application of and compliance with the EAC Treaty.

Arusha is the temporary seat of the Court until the Summit determines its permanent seat. The Court’s sub-registries are located in the capitals of the following Partner States: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, and United Republic of Tanzania.

For more information please contact:

Christine Mutimura

Deputy Registrar,

East African Court of Justice.

Arusha, Tanzania

Tel: 255-27-2162149

Email: cmwekesa@eachq.org